My Sister — The Bride.

 “Once in awhile, right in the middle of an ordinary life, love gives us a fairy tale.”

–Anonymous


Image

When my sister first met her fiance at a wedding we attended last October (funny how that works), I couldn’t have imagined in a million years that she would marry him.  He wasn’t her type, she was still studying, he lived in a different city…there were plenty of excuses, and since the only thing my sister had previously looked for in men were faults, I figured this case scenario would be no different.  To be blunt, I thought Mina would never get married.

That’s the issue with that pesky thing called Love.  You don’t know what shenanigans it will stir up.

We are preparing for a wedding this Saturday.

I have always imagined what it would be like for one of my sisters to get married.  It must be so glamorous and exciting!  Freakishly, it has even been a dream of mine.  Not because I wanted to get rid of my sister, but because I wanted to be part of something big.  Except now it feels exceptionally bittersweet.

What I never considered before is that she would be leaving our family, to create a new one of her own.  Our little clan of three sisters, a brother, a niece, and Mom and Dad, won’t be the same anymore.  A large chunk of it will be living in Moscow, possibly breeding children of her own.  And what of it now.  I guess without us realizing it, we have all grown up.

The other day I was sitting at the kitchen table with my mom when I joked, “Even your babies are graduating from high school this year!”  When I said it, the depth of those words heavily sunk on my shoulders.  Holy cow.  And where went the years when Mom would fry donuts for all four of us in the early school mornings?  Or the long nights us three sisters would spend weeping, watching the movie Selena with Jennifer Lopez?  Then we would sneak quietly back into our beds before our parents would hear us…

Yes, a whole era of our lives is ending right before my eyes.  We’re giving our beloved sister away this Saturday, March 16th.

But when I lie awake in bed wiping away the tears, I always stop and smile.  What more could I ask for than her marrying the man of her dreams? What more could I wish than eternal happiness in her new, adult, family life? What more do I want other than to just see her laugh?

Nothing.  I wish nothing but everlasting bliss for my sister and her husband.  I’ll wrap our childhood memories in a blanket, and place them snugly in my heart, so I can make room for new memories that will be awaiting me this Saturday and for many years to come.

To the happy couple.

Much Love,

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Sister — The Bride.

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you
    know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why
    but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a Reply

