Confidence and Beauty – It Goes Together

“A woman whose smile is open and whose expression is glad has a kind of beauty no matter what she wears.”
— Anne Roiphe

My weight has been my worst enemy, largest hassel, and the stepping stone into young adulthood.  For most of my life, I’ve struggled with it.  I’ve battled it, sometimes pinning it down, and other times toppling and drowning in it.  It brings me comfort that just about any skinny person I know works to have the body weight they are proud of.  I use that as motiviation, telling myself that nothing in life comes easy.  Despite what many teenange magazines today try to tell you about being happy with who you are, the truth remains that your looks are a big ticket in any sort of success.  It has been proven by many statistics that beautiful women climb the career ladder higher than those who society deems “unattractive”.  I personally do not believe there is such a thing as an unnattractive woman.  I’ve learned from personal experience that after a lady gets a nice grooming, and makes the choice to look her best, she becomes DROP DEAD GOREGOUS.

I’m seventeen, and to be blunt, I admit that I do pay my looks a lot of attention.  As, I’m sure, most teenage girls do.  Today I noticed that my eyebrows need to be plucked, and while browsing my photos from yesterdays dinner, I hated the double chin that has grown this summer and simply refuses to leave.  Those are things that I want to work on.  Which brings me back to the issue of my weight.

Most adults get moritifed when they hear me say that I’m on a diet.  I can not convey to them that I’m no fool.  No, I do not starve myself, or only eat an apple a day.  I wish I could soothe their fears — let them know that I will not become that girl from TV suffering from anorexia.  Frankly, I love food too much.  But I do believe that you need to have a certain amount of disciple and self-control.  I always try to drink cups full of water, and I eat my chicken soup with fresh cucumbers and tomatoes instead of white bread.  And after I have a hearty dinner, I do not eat after 6 PM.  These are my ways to keep up a healthy weight, albeit I often struggle to follow even them.  So the word diet does not mean that I will go on a week-long Hollywood cleanse, it just means that I will now watch what I eat.

I also truly enjoy taking care of my skin and teeth.  I do scrubs everyday, and love using home remedies, such as milk and honey, for masks.  I floss my teeth everyday, and brush them sometimes twice in a row.  Once with a anti-bacteria toothpaste, and once with a whitening toothpaste.  Most importanly, I love having fresh and clean hair.

It’s all about feeling good and feeling confident.

Much Love,

3 Comments

Filed under Personal

3 responses to “Confidence and Beauty – It Goes Together

  1. Great post! I’m 17 too and know exactly what you’re talking about. I have come to terms that while I think I may look just awful in pictures, I am my worst critic. Just as everyone is. I have an exercise bike and have been trying to ride 10-15 miles every night and so far that’s working! I hope yours is working out! Again, I really loved this post. Thanks for the inspiration! Just knowing someone else is going through the same thing makes it a little better. Haha:)

    • Oh, my gosh, you totally inspire me as well! It is so amazing to hear that we’re all going through the same thing. I should really pick up on some form of exercise, but I’m so lazy. I am thinking about trying exercise videos. I also absolutely hate how I look on pictures. Thank you for your comment and support, it truly means a lot to me.

      • I understand being lazy completely! It’s so hard to get myself to do it! I just make myself do it because I know it’s going to make me feel better about myself…cliche, I know. No problem, for the support! We all need support when we’re going through something. Hope all works well!:)

Leave a Reply

